first bamboo

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
Joe Hinkle Pipes

first bamboo

Post by Joe Hinkle Pipes »

I've been messing around with this pipe since Ernie sold me the bamboo. I have screwed up some bamboo, and a few stems and finally decided to give it a quick finish and start smoking it. The shank of the stummel looked good before shaping the block, but is obviously way too long now that it is finished. I also noticed the bamboo looks very dirty, I couldnt come up with a good way to clean the nodules. Let me know if anything else stick out or looks out of place. I am still trying to get my sanding/buffing procedure down. Adding the beall lathe system has helped a lot. thanks for looking.

Joe
Ocelot55

Re: first bamboo

Post by Ocelot55 »

That looks pretty good to me. I have NO experience with bamboo, unfortunately, so I can't really offer any critique. I do agree with what you've already pointed out. I would only add that the stem/bamboo transition looks like it needs some refinement.

I think it looks great. A few more and you'll have this bamboo thing down.
andrew

Post by andrew »