Introduction + a couple questions

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
ajpl

Introduction + a couple questions

Post by ajpl »

I've been smoking pipes for about four years now and recently caught the pipe-crafting bug after stumbling across a few articles on the subject (like this one, which makes it sound suspiciously easy). I picked up the PIMO book and found this exceptionally awesome website, and I think I'm about ready to dive in and get my hands dirty!

But first, a couple questions:
1) where do you fine folks purchase your briar (or maybe a better question, where are the best places to buy briar for a complete and total newbie)?
2) as someone on a budget, what are the essential tools to pick up? I think I can afford to put a drill press on credit, but if I don't, what will I need to make a hand-held power drill do the job?

Thanks everyone. I'm looking forward to getting started!
Drew
"Never trust a man who has not a single redeeming vice."
the rev

Re: Introduction + a couple questions

Post by the rev »

my suggestion buy a pipe kit from Mark Tinsky, get a dremel tool, a sanding disk, sandpaper, some files and buffers. Learn to shape first, then if you still are loving it go buy some big equipment

I say that because that is what I am doing

rev
"but rev, isn't smoking a sin?"

well I suppose if one were to smoke to excess it would be a sin

"but what would be smoking to excess?"

Why smoking two pipes at once of course
wmolaw

Post by wmolaw »

Oh, I suspect that if you ask twenty different guys/gals you will get twenty different answers. Me, I would say go first with an inexpensive midi wood lathe like the Rikon. It allows you to drill (better than with a press), shape, buff, etc., etc., etc. And, if you find you get bored with making pipes, you can make a million other things!
andrew

Post by andrew »