lathes

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
magruder

lathes

Post by magruder »

Can anyone tell me there is a real difference between the Jet 9x20 and the Grizzly 9x19 lathes besides the color?
I've seen several websites devoted to "import" lathes and the two are treated as the same lathe.
The price difference is pretty substantial.
Does anyone have experience with both - or really knows if they are different?
I'm searching for a lathe and I am a novice to turning so I need some input on this.
Also, can anyone suggest books on metal lathe setup and novice use?
Many thanx guys.
bscofield

Post by bscofield »

I know the guys with lathes will chime in here but I'm pretty sure that Grizzly lathes have gotten a bad rap on here in the past...
magruder

Post by magruder »

Well...... digging further, I find that the Chinese machines, Grizzly, Harbor Freight, Enco are basically knockoffs, or in the case of the Jet, nearly counterfiet machines.
I know that others have said the Chinese machines were poor, but I got a bit confused when the Jet (American made) was lumped in with them on various user web sites.
Appearently, the like as like treatment was intended to be for their various
specs and such - not quality. ( though one site litterally says that the Jet an import, same as the others!)
So, that is that and thanx to all for putting up with my occasional ignorant
query. :oops:
jeff

Post by jeff »